القانون الدولي

على الرغم من كون حقوق الإنسان واحدة من الركائز الرئيسية للأمم المتحدة وعلى جدول الأعمال الدولي، فإننا نشهد موجة من الأوتوقراطيين والشعبويين ومنتهكي حقوق الإنسان تتصدر عناوين الصحف- من القتل خارج نطاق القضاء إلى جرائم الحرب. من الواضح أن الإفلات من العقاب على نطاق واسع والحجم الهائل في انتهاكات القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني سببان في الضغط المقلق على النظام القانوني الدولي.

يواجه العالم العديد من التحديات الاجتماعية والسياسية التي تسبب عدم اليقين والاضطراب والصراع. تسببت الفظائع التي ارتكبت في أوقات الحرب وانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في معاناة وألم فادح في حياة العديد من المدنيين وحريتهم.

في ستوك وايت، نعتقد أنه يجب محاسبة أولئك الذين ارتكبوا هذه الجرائم. بصفتنا شركة متخصصة في القانون الدولي، نحن ملتزمون بدعم حقوق العديد من الأشخاص الذين عانوا في جميع أنحاء العالم ومحاكمة المسؤولين عن جرائم الحرب الدولية. يتمتع فريق القانون الدولي لدينا بخبرة كبيرة في تقديمه إلى كل من المحاكم الوطنية والدولية، بما في ذلك القضايا الرائدة التي تعمل مع المنظمات غير الحكومية وجماعات الدفاع، غالبًا ضد الأنظمة التي ترتكب جرائم حرب.

قسم القانون الدولي في ستوك وايت

في ستوك وايت، نؤمن بدعم سيادة القانون، حتى في مناطق النزاع. قوانين الحرب هي إطار حيوي لإدارة أطراف النزاع المسلح. في الوقت الذي يتم فيه استهداف المدنيين وأولئك الذين ليس لديهم وظيفة قتالية باستمرار، والتعذيب المتفشي والاغتصاب المستخدم كحيلة حرب، فإن هذا الفقه هو الوقت المناسب للطلب.

لشركتنا تاريخ في تقديم القضايا ضد مرتكبي انتهاكات جرائم الحرب. تهتم ستوك وايت في المقام الأول بالانتهاكات المتعلقة بالمدنيين وغير المقاتلين. نجتمع مع الضحايا، ونجمع الأدلة ونصيغ الشكاوى استعدادا لتقديمها إلى الهيئة الدولية ذات الصلة.

لدى قسم القانون الدولي لدينا تاريخ قوي في تقديم القضايا التي تشمل رؤساء الدول والحكومات والأفراد. نحن أيضًا شركاء مع المنظمات غير الحكومية وأصحاب المصلحة الآخرين في العديد من البلدان التي تعمل من أجل نفس الهدف.

نيابة عن الضحايا والمنظمات الحكومية والأفراد، لدينا طلبات مستمرة للولاية القضائية العالمية، بالإضافة إلى الطلبات في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية (ICC). على الصعيد الوطني، لدينا العديد من القضايا الجديرة بالذكر، والتي تتجاوز حدود القانون الوطني والدولي.

نقدم طلبات إلى مجلس حقوق الإنسان فيما يتعلق بمنع التعذيب، وحرية تكوين الجمعيات والتجمع، وحرية التعبير، وحرية المعتقد والدين، وحقوق المرأة، وحقوق الأقليات العرقية والإثنية.

تشمل خدماتنا للعملاء في هذا المجال ما يلي:

الاستشارة والتقاضي

طلبات الاختصاص العالمي وإصدار مذكرات التوقيف

التحقيقات في جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية

جمع الأدلة والتحقيقات المعلوماتية

الطلبات المقدمة إلى مجلس الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان، والاتحاد الأفريقي، والمحكمة الجنائية الدولية

العمل مع مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص والمحققين والأفراد المستقلين.

التعاون مع الأطراف الأخرى من أجل تعزيز قانون حقوق الإنسان

تجميد الأصول

دراسة حالة 1

في عام 2019، قدمت ستوك وايت شكوى مع الأدلة إلى وحدة SO15 التابعة لشرطة العاصمة البريطانية في لندن ووزارة العدل الأمريكية نيابة عن أفراد عائلات الأشخاص الذين لقوا حتفهم في هجوم جنازة صنعاء في اليمن، نفذته قوات التحالف السعودي – الإماراتي في 8 أكتوبر 2016.

وقتل في الهجوم 137 مدنيا بينهم أطفال. وأصيب ما يصل إلى 695 مدنياً آخر بجروح خطيرة. تم تخطيط وتنفيذ الهجوم على الجنازة من قبل مسؤولين حكوميين وعسكريين بقيادة التحالف السعودي – الإماراتي. بموجب مبدأ الولاية القضائية العالمية، قدمت ستوك وايت قائمة من المشتبه بهم إلى شرطة العاصمة البريطانية ووزارة العدل الأمريكية بعد التحقيق في الهجوم.

دراسة حالة 2

شهد عام 2010 قافلة الحرية في غزة وهي تحمل مساعدات إنسانية، إلى جانب مئات المدنيين، تعرضت لهجوم غير قانوني من قبل قوات الدفاع الإسرائيلية في المياه الدولية. وقد أدى الهجوم، الذي أودى بحياة 10 متطوعين أبرياء إنسانيين على متن سفينة مافي مرمرة أثناء إصابة العديد منهم، إلى انتقادات دولية واسعة النطاق.

كانت ستوك وايت في مهمة جدية لا هوادة فيها من أجل تحقيق العدالة من خلال النظم القانونية الوطنية والدولية نيابة عن الضحايا وعائلاتهم. بدأت الإجراءات القانونية الدولية في مايو 2013 في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. بعد قرار المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية في نوفمبر 2014 بعدم فتح تحقيق في جرائم حرب مزعومة لجيش الدفاع الإسرائيلي، تم تقديم طلب للمراجعة إلى الدائرة التمهيدية للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية. أدى هذا الطلب لصالحنا.

وقد طال أمد المزيد من الإجراءات القانونية بلا داع من خلال الاستئنافات الإضافية للمدعي العام وتلقى انتقادات من قضاة المحكمة الجنائية الدولية. في حين استمرت العملية القانونية، بناء على طلب المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، قدم فريقنا القانوني في جلسة استماع. كانت الجلسة مناسبة مهمة وتاريخية لقضيتنا وتاريخ المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

كان فريقنا القانوني حاضراً في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في سبتمبر 2019، حيث وجدت دائرة الاستئناف أن المدعي العام كان على خطأ. أمرت المحكمة الجنائية الدولية في وقت لاحق المدعي العام باتخاذ قرار بشأن التحقيق في أي جريمة مزعومة بحلول ديسمبر 2019. وكان هذا قرارًا تاريخيًا آخر لصالح الضحايا، وهو الأول من نوعه في تاريخ المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

تم بث جلسة الاستماع مباشرة على موقع المحكمة الجنائية الدولية وجذب انتباه وسائل الإعلام من جميع أنحاء العالم. كان قرار دائرة الاستئناف انتصارًا آخر للضحايا الذين ظلوا ينتظرون منذ فترة طويلة تحقيق العدالة والمساءلة من الجناة عن الجرائم التي ارتكبت منذ ما يقرب من عقد من الزمان. تستمر الإجراءات القانونية، وسيواصل فريقنا السعي حتى تحقيق العدالة للضحايا.

دراسة حالة 3

تعهدت ستوك وايت بالتحقيق في الجرائم المستمرة التي يرتكبها النظام السوري وعملائه. تواصلت الشركة بالضحايا الموجودين في المخيمات في كل من الأردن وتركيا ولبنان، وكذلك المواطنين في الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي. أخذت الشركة بيانات تفصيلية، وحققت في الجرائم المزعومة، وجمعت الأدلة، وفي عام 2019، في خطوة تغطيها وسائل الإعلام على نطاق واسع، رفعت قضية جنائية ضد النظام السوري وعملائه في المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

لدى تقديم القضية إلى المدعي العام بالنيابة عن 28 لاجئًا سوريًا، رفعت ستوك وايت أول دعوى قضائية ضد الحكومة السورية. نحن نواصل جمع الأدلة من الضحايا من أجل عرض قضايا الاغتصاب والتعذيب واستخدام الأسلحة الكيميائية وغيرها من الجرائم على المحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

نحن هنا للمساعدة!

إذا كنت بحاجة إلى مزيد من المعلومات أو ترغب في مناقشة مسألة معنا ، فلا تتردد في الاتصال بنا. نهدف إلى الرد عليك في غضون يومي عمل.

contact@stokewhite.com

International Law

Despite human rights being one of the major pillars of the United Nations and on the international agenda, we are witnessing a wave of autocrats, populists and human rights abusers gaining headlines – from extrajudicial killing to war crimes. It is clear that widespread impunity and the sheer volume in International Human Rights and Humanitarian Law violations are causes for alarming stress on the international legal order.

The world is facing many social and political challenges causing uncertainty, unrest and conflict. Atrocities committed during times of war and human rights infringements have caused catastrophic anguish and pain to many civilians’ lives and freedom.

At Stoke White, we believe that those who are guilty of these crimes must be held accountable. As a specialist International Law firm, we are committed to upholding the rights of the many people who have suffered across the world and prosecuting those responsible for international war crimes. Our International Law team have a wealth of experience presenting to both national and international courts, including ground-breaking cases working with NGOs and advocacy groups, often against regimes that commit war crimes.

Stoke White’s International Law Department

At Stoke White, we believe in upholding the rule of law, even in conflict zones. The Laws of War is a vital framework for governance of parties to an armed conflict. In a time when civilians and those without a combat function are constantly targeted, torture rampant and rape used as a stratagem of war, this jurisprudence is high time for application.

Our firm has a history of submitting cases against perpetrators of war crimes violations. Stoke White is primarily concerned with the abuses concerning civilians and non-combatants. We meet with victims, gather evidence and draft complaints in preparation to submit them to the relevant international body.

Our International Law department has a strong history of submitting cases involving heads of state, governments and individuals. We also partner with NGOs and other stakeholders in several countries working for the same objective.

On behalf of state and individual victims and organisations, we have ongoing universal jurisdiction applications, as well as applications at the International Criminal Court (ICC). At national level, we have several noteworthy cases in progress, which push the boundaries of national and international law.

We make applications to the Human Rights Council regarding the prevention of torture, freedom of association and assembly, freedom of expression, freedom of belief and religion, women’s rights, and the rights of racial and ethnic minorities. 

Our services to clients in this area include:

Advice and litigation

Universal jurisdiction applications, issuing arrest warrants

Investigations into the war crimes and crimes against humanity

Evidence and intelligence-gathering

Applications to the United Nations Human Rights Council, African Union, and International Criminal Court (ICC)

Work with the UN special rapporteur, investigators and independent personnel

Collaboration with other parties for the furtherance of human rights law

Asset freezes

Case Study 1

In 2019 Stoke White submitted a complaint with evidence to the SO15 unit of the UK’s Metropolitan Police in London and the US Department of Justice on behalf of family members of people who died at the Sana’a funeral attack in Yemen, carried out by Saudi-UAE coalition forces on 8th October 2016.

In the attack, 137 civilians were killed including children. As many as 695 other civilians were severely injured. The attack on the funeral was planned and carried out by government and military officials from the Saudi-UAE led coalition. Under the Principal of Universal Jurisdiction, Stoke White submitted a list of suspects to the UK’s Metropolitan Police and US’s Department of Justice, following an investigation on the attack.

Case Study 2

2010 saw the Gaza Freedom Flotilla carrying humanitarian aid, along with hundreds of civilians, illegally attacked by the Israeli Defence Forces (IDF) in international waters. The attack, which killed 10 innocent humanitarian volunteers on board the Mavi Marmara vessel whilst injuring many others, attracted widespread international criticism.

Stoke White has been on a relentless mission to seek justice through national and international legal systems on behalf of the victims and their families. The international legal process commenced in May 2013 at the ICC. Following the decision of the ICC Prosecutor in November 2014 to not to open an investigation into alleged IDF war crimes, an application for Review was made to the ICC Pre-Trial Chamber. This application resulted in our favour.

The legal process was unnecessarily prolonged by the Prosecutor’s further appeals and received criticism from the ICC judges. Whilst the legal process continued, at the request of the ICC, our legal team made submissions in an oral hearing. The hearing was a significant and historical occasion for our case and the history of the ICC.

Our legal team was present at the ICC on September 2019, in which the Appeals Chamber found that the Prosecutor was in error. The ICC subsequently ordered the Prosecutor to make a decision whether to investigate any alleged crime by December 2019. This was another landmark decision in favour of the victims, and the first of its kind in the history of the ICC.

The hearing was broadcast live on the ICC website and attracted media attention from around the world. The Appeal’s Chambers decision was another victory for the victims who have long been waiting for delivery of justice and accountability from the perpetrators for crimes committed almost a decade ago. The legal process continues, and our team will continue to strive until justice is delivered for the victims.

Case Study 3

Stoke White undertook to investigate ongoing crimes committed by the Syrian regime and its agents. The firm contacted victims based in camps in Jordan, Turkey and Lebanon, as well as citizens in European Union member states. The firm took detailed statements, investigated the alleged crimes, collected evidence, and in 2019, in a move widely covered by the media, filed a criminal case against the Syrian regime and its agents in the International Criminal Court.

In submitting the case to the chief prosecutor on behalf of 28 Syrian refugees, Stoke White filed the first ever lawsuit against the Syrian government to demand justice for 1,189 victims of abuse. We continue to gather evidence from victims in order to bring cases for rape, torture, the use of chemical weapons and other crimes to the attention of the ICC.

We are here to help!

If you need any further information or would like to discuss a matter with us, please feel free to contact us. We aim to get back to you within two business days.

contact@stokewhite.com